The TEA State Board of Education (SBE) Contact Committee advocates directly with state board members on matters concerning SBE rules, regulations and minimum standards. Each member of the committee lives and works in a public school in the congressional district in which they are assigned. TEA members are urged to contact committee members concerning SBE agenda items.


Congressional District 1

State Board Member: Nick Darnell 
TEA Contact: 
Melinda Reese


Congressional District 2

State Board Member: Mike Edwards 
TEA Contact: Anthony Hancock 


Congressional District 3

State Board Member: Bob Eby

TEA Contact: Beth Green


Congressional District 4

State Board Member: Gordon Ferguson
TEA Contact: Emily Mitchell


Congressional District 5

State Board Member: Elissa Kim
TEA Contact: 
Tom Cash


Congressional District 6

State Board Member: Lillian Hartgrove

TEA Contact:  Nicki Fields


Congressional District 7

State Board Member: Wendy Tucker, Esq.
TEA Contact:  


Congressional District 8

State Board Member: Vacant
TEA Contact: John Yarbrough


Congressional District 9

State Board Member: Darrell Cobbins

TEA Contact: Deborah Atkins

State Board Student Member: Vacant

TEA State Board of Education Committee Chair: Jeanette Omarkhail


Staff Liaison: Terrance Gibson